Northern News

APA CA logo

A publication of the American Planning Association, California Chapter, Northern Section

Creating great communities for all

Northern Section’s David Early to get PEN Honor Award

By Juan Borrelli, AICP

PEN, the Planner Emeritus Network, is an auxiliary of and resource support group to APA California, the California Planning Foundation, and the California Planning Historical Society. PEN represents a body of long-tenured members of APA who are available to provide knowledge of the profession as it has matured in California. PEN members also are available to provide their personal insights, experiences, and planning history when requested by the Board or other organizations, groups, and individuals.

Each year, a select few APA California members receive a PEN Honor Award for an outstanding contribution to the profession or for a significant accomplishment that enhanced the recognition and value of planning.

The four recipients of this year’s PEN Honor Award are:

David Early, AICP. Photo: Placeworks

David Early, AICP (Northern Section)

Tim Snellings (Sacramento Valley Section)

David Mieger, AICP (Los Angeles Section)

Thomas Davis, AICP (Inland Empire)

Past PEN Honor Award Recipients from the Northern Section include:

2018 – Tom Jacobson, AICP; and Dan Marks, AICP

2017 – Hing Wong, AICP

2016 – Steve Piasecki, AICP

2015 – Hanson Hom, AICP

2014 – Joseph Horwedel, AICP; Mike Moore; and Eileen Whitty, AICP

2013 – Barry Miller, FAICP; Linda C. Dalton, FAICP, Ph.D.; Pete Parkinson, AICP; and Donald Weden

2012 – Dr. Earl Bossard, AICP; Anne Cronin Moore; Barbara Kautz, FAICP; and Leon Pirofalo, AICP (posthumously)

2011 – Alec Bash, AICP; Elaine Costello, FAICP; and Alex Hinds

2010 – Dan Iacofano, PhD, FAICP; Naphtali Knox, FAICP; Joan Lamphier; and Paul Sedway, FAICP

2009 – Dean Macris, FAICP; Marjorie Macris, FAICP; and Donald Rothblatt, FAICP

2008 – Dr. Don Bradley, AICP; Jeanette Dinwiddie-Moore, FAICP; and Wayne Goldberg, AICP

2007 – Vivian Kahn, FAICP

2002 – 2006 None awarded to Northern Section members

2001 – Larz Anderson; and Nadya Andrews, AICP

2000 – Ken Norwood

1999 – John Hirten, FAICP

1998 – Betty Croly, FAICP

Scroll to Top