Northern News

APA CA logo

A publication of the American Planning Association, California Chapter, Northern Section

Making great communities happen

Emeryville’s Miroo Desai elected to APA California office

Julia Lave Johnston, President of APA California, and Pete Parkinson, AICP, Past President of APA California and Chair of the 2019 Nominating Committee, have announced the California Chapter Election Results.

This was the first election in which the new Chapter board position of Vice President for Diversity and Equity was on the ballot. The board created the position to show its commitment to increase diversity in our profession and our organization. Miroo Desai, AICP (shown here) was elected Vice President for Diversity and Equity. She is Senior Planner with the City of Emeryville, where she has worked since 2004. Desai moves to this vice presidency from a Chapter appointed position as Membership Inclusion Coordinator for Northern California.

Also newly elected to the Chapter Board are:

President Elect: Ashley Atkinson, AICP (Los Angeles Section)
Vice President for Administration: Derek Wong, AICP (Sacramento Section)
Vice President for Public Information: Ellie Fiore, AICP (Los Angeles Section)
Vice President for Marketing and Membership: Marc Yeber (Los Angeles Section)

Terms of office for all of these positions begin in January 2020 and run through December 2022.

Scroll to Top